Your Most Authoritative Portal for Ghanaian Football

Medeama pip Ashgold to lift Super Cup

A late Bernard Ofori strike was enough to hand Medeama SC their maiden Super Cup victory as they defeated league Champions AshantiGold 1-0 at the Accra Sports Stadium on Sunday.

The new signing, a second half substitute, looked to have been played onside by defender Hudu Yakubu before slotting home past goalkeeper Fatau Dauda in post for the Miners, three minutes to full time.

Medeama, two-time FA Cup winners have now added the Ghanaian Super Cup to their growing trophy cabinet after their last disappointment in 2013 where they were trashed 3-0 by Asante Kotoko.

The first half was largely a one way traffic with Medeama pining the Miners to their own half but neither side managed to find the back of the net.

A more open second half display saw AshGold coach Bashir Hayford introduce Daniel Addo, Hudu Yakubu and Frederick Quayson for Nuhu Fuseini, Osei Baffour and Isaac Amoah respectively.

And it was Quayson who looked to have scored a legitimate goal in the 78th minute but it was ruled offside. The bulky forward picked a rebound and found the back of the net after right-back Samuel Adade played him on but the match referee Daniel Laryea decided otherwise.

Twelve minutes earlier, Kadri Mohammed came close to scoring a perfect goal after feeding on a sweet Hudu Yakubu corner but his header went just wide.

A livid AshantiGold staged a protest after the final whistle by snubbing medal presentation while the victorious Medeama side went on with their celebration of a hard-won victory.

The FA Super Cup now paves way for the commencement of the 2015/16 Ghana Premier League already scheduled for February 20 start.


AshGold XI: Fatau Dauda – Augustine Sefa, Kadri Mohammed, Awudu Nafiu, Tijani Joshua – Eric Opoku, Joseph Ato Bissah – Shafiu Mumuni, Emmanuel Osei Baffour/66’ Hudu Yakubu, Nuhu Fuseini/63’ Daniel Addo, Isaac Amoah/76’ Frederick Quayson

Unused subs: Nuhu Alhassan, Emmanuel Osei, Godfred Rockson, Robert Dabuo

Medeama XI: Muntari Tagoe – Samuel Adade, Daniel Amoah, Paul Aidoo, Moses Sarpong – Malik Akowuah, Kwame Boahene, Kwesi Donsu, Benjamin Bature/81’ Bismark Oppong – Abass Mohammed/58’ Bernard Ofori, Enock Atta Agyei/62’ Emmanuel Yeboah

Unused subs: Eric Kwakwa, James Akaminko, Francis Addo, Yaw Ansah Fufuro

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More