Your Most Authoritative Portal for Ghanaian Football

Medeama beat Kotoko to lift FA Cup

A Bismark Oppong strike was enough to hand Medeama a 2-1 defeat over Asante Kotoko to lift the 2015 MTN FA Cup.

Oppong scored in the 64th minute after Amed Toure had earlier equalised a Kwasi Donsu strike in the first half of an action-packed game at the Sekondi-Essipong Sports Stadium on Sunday.

Kotoko who had lost the 2013 finals to the Mauves and Yellow entered the game with revenge on their minds against a Medeama side that were playing without target man Nathaniel Asamoah.

Benjamin Bature was the first to call any of the two goalkeepers into. action when he forced Kotoko’s Joseph Addo into an early save on five minutes.

Having struggled to maintain possession, Kotoko’s Amed Toure nearly put his side ahead in the 15th minutes but blasted his shot wide after being put clear on goal, before referee Jospeh Lamptey signaled for an offside.

Obed Owusu then tested Medeama goalkeeper Muntari Tagoe from range.

However, it was Kwasi Donsu who would break the deadlock after firing in a low shot to the left of Addo after receiving a cross from Jacob Appau from the right on the 35th minute.

Kotoko wasted no time at all to hit back, Toure beating his marker to connect to an Eric Donkor cross to draw his side level just three minutes.

Back from recess, Medeama came back with a lifted spirit and could have immediately taken a second lead but Bature’s strike was only as effective as hitting the upright.

Appau, Bature and Eric Kwakwa all made attempts at goal but it was Oppong who made it count with a goal, just seconds after coming on as a substitute in the 63rd minute, after being put clear on by Bature.

Substitute Richard Mpong, who had come on to replace Frank Sarfo-Gyamfi, had the best opportunity to bring Kotoko back into the game, but his headed effort was ruled out for a foul on goalkeeper Muntari Tagoe.

However, television replays showed no such offence, and the Tarkwa-based side held their own to the final whistle to win just their second major title.

The win automatically qualifies Medeama as Ghana’s sole representative for the 2016 Caf Confederation Cup.



Kotoko XI: Joseph Addo; Amos Frimpong, Ahmed Adams, Abeiku Ainooson, Christopher Bonney, Owusu Jackson, Michael Akuffo/Kojo Poku, Frank Sarfo-Gyamfi/Richard Mpong, Eric Donkor/Richard Oti, Obed Owusu, Amed Toure

Medeama XI: Muntari Tagoe; Daniel Amoah, Malik Akowuah, Samuel Adade/Francis Addo, Ebenezer Adjei/Bismark Oppong, Jacob Appau, Kwesi Donsu, Eric Kwakwa/Victor Ayirey, Moses Sarpong, Benjamin Bature, Evans Quao

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More